Conquering the Rainy Day Blues: Tips and Tricks

Previously posted on my old blog on 2.2.15

Happy Monday!

Here in NY, it is horribly gross outside. Rain, snow and slush have made my morning start off quite slow.

While dragging myself around my house I stopped to think: Wait! You know ways to break you out of this funk so why aren’t you doing them?

So I decided in addition to using my tricks, I’m going to share them with you!

Side Note: These tips and tricks aren’t solely for rainy days. Use them for anytime you are feeling down and unmotivated! 

1. Make Your Bed

No, I am not your mother but trust me, making your bed as soon as you get out of it is a great way to make sure that the rest of your day goes well. It is something productive that you are doing as soon as you get up, right as your feet hit the floor (Plus it is a lot less tempting to get back into a bed that you just put effort into making neat).

2. Get Active

You don’t have to go for a 10 mile run of workout for an hour. Just get up and do something. This can be a 15-30 second plank, some squats, or you can turn on your favorite song and jam out (you will find me blasting Uptown Funk and dancing like an idiot while getting ready for class some mornings). Oh, and that leads me to my next tip:

3. Music is Motivation

Everyone has that song/those songs that pump them up. So turn on that T-Swizzle or classic Backstreet Boys and sing along! If you don’t have a go-to song, or you just want to listen to anything, I suggest using Songza (www.songza.com & they have an app as well). It let’s you pick a playlist based on what you are doing, how you feel or by genre!

4. Feed Your Body and Your Soul

Well. Don’t wake up and eat a doughnut or some cake that is left in the fridge. Nourish your body with foods that are going to help it function at its peak. You don’t have to make a gourmet breakfast, but a balanced one is key. As for your soul, well… that’s up to you! For me, I enjoy some quick yoga if I am in a funk, but you can do what you find is best for you. Mediate, pray, reflect or just do something that will help you feel at ease.

5. Accomplish Something

I am not suggesting you go out and cure cancer (unless you want to… then go for it!), but get something done. It can be as simple as completing tip #1 (making your bed) or it can be something more complex like responding to emails, doing homework or writing a blog entry (*hint hint this is what I am doing today*)

Well, I hope your Monday is less dreary than mine! Have a great day, put a smile on and use these tips to beat the rainy day blues!

xoxo

Ally

Leave a Reply

