January 2015 Favorites and Book of the Month review

Previously published on my old blog on 2.1.15

One of my favorite types of videos on YouTube are monthly favorites, so I decided that I would do my own monthly favorites on my blog!

Also, one of my goals of the new year is to read at least one book a month, so I am going to post about the book I read this month.

Some of my favorites from this month!

Some of my favorites from this month!

Beauty

Garnier Clean + Nourishing Cleansing Oil

This is my holy grail when I wear makeup. You put it on your skin dry, add water and then wash it off. It removes almost all of my makeup and makes my skin soft.

Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine Blow Dry Perfector 

I am going to preface this by saying this product most likely will not work for everyone! I have fairly straight hair naturally, so it is fantastic for me. Basically, what it does is help your hair blow dry straight. I just put some in my hair and blow dry it without even styling it and I love how it comes out.


Burt’s Bees Lip Balm (in “Refreshing” aka Pink Grapefruit)

I have always loved Burt’s Bees, especially their lip balms, but the pink grapefruit one has been my obsession since I got it for Christmas. It just smells so good and I love it.

Clothing

Serengetee Gear

In the Fall, I was a campus rep for a brand called Serengetee. They make the greatest pocket tees and other items ever and it is safe to say that I am obsessed. The best part about them is that 5% of the purchase of each “pocket” goes to a specific cause. There is no better feeling than knowing you are giving back and getting new clothes. (check them out at http://www.serengetee.com)

Music

1989 – Taylor Swift

Yep. I am on that bandwagon like everyone else. Taylor Swift’s new album is my latest obsession and the album that is on repeat on my phone. My favorite songs are definitely Out of the Woods, Style, Bad Blood and, of course, Blank Space. Seriously, if you haven’t listened to this album yet, you should.

TV Shows/Movies

Galavant

Galavant was a four week musical comedy series that was on ABC. I really enjoyed it. It was funny, had a lot of mature jokes and of course, had music. The only thing I really did not like was the level of talent. The cast members were not the greatest singers so that was kind of annoying for a musical television series. If you like musical theater, I recommend watching it.

Food/Drink

French Toast Crunch

It’s back! Thank all that is good that my childhood is back! French Toast Crunch seriously has so many memories attached to it and it tastes amazing. Yeah, that’s about all I can say. If you are a child of the 90’s you will understand.

Misc Favorites 

Wax Melts

I LOVE my wax warmer. I am not allowed to have candles in my room (for safety reasons, small room and fire would not be a great combo), so I have a little wax warmer instead. I love it. It fills my room up in the same way that a candle would without the liability. I actually got mine from LTD Commodities but you can get them at Yankee Candle, Scentsy and more. Right now my scent of choice is vanilla.

Book of the Month


We Should Hang Out Sometime – Josh Sundquist

I have been a fan of Josh Sunquist since I came across his YouTube videos a couple of years back. I got his first book “Just Don’t Fall” (which is must read by the way) for Christmas a few years back and this year for Christmas I got his newest book. “We Should Hang Out Sometime” tells the hilarious story of Josh’s adventures in romance through his childhood and into his young adulthood. I, personally, enjoyed the section about the Miss America contestant (which is probably because I compete in MAO). Overall, it’s a funny book and a good read if you are looking for a laugh.

xoxo

Ally

Leave a Reply

