Some Superheroes Don’t Need Capes

Happy Monday! You know what the means, right? It’s time for some motivation!

When I say the word ‘superhero’, what do you think of? Is it an individual in a stretchy spandex costume with amazing other-worldly powers? Do they go around saving people from disasters and evil villains? Do they have a cape? Or is it someone you know? A neighbor, sister, parent, relative or a friend?

A few weeks ago, my friend Katlyn (the beautiful Miss Staten Island 2015) made the statement that is my blog title: “Some superheroes don’t need capes”. What still is registering in my head was that it was said in reference to my friend Amanda and I, after we had planned a small surprise party for some teens that were competing in the state pageant this past weekend. It got my thinking about what other “cape-less” superheroes are in my life and the lives of others around me.

So what makes a “cape-less superhero”? That is a pretty good question. To me, in general, a superhero is someone who goes above and beyond what is deemed necessary to help others or to make others happy. So I guess a “cape-less superhero” is just a real life version of that.

Obviously the first example I can think of is my mom (and I’m sure many of you will think of a parent, grandparent, older sibling or guardian as well). Moms usually give the world for their children and are truly superheroes.

Next, I think of the “heroes” we learn about in grammar school, such as police officers, firefighters and others who put their lives on the line every day.

Finally, I think of some of the amazing individuals in my life who are going above and beyond to make a difference in the world, such as my pageant sisters.

large

So who are the superheroes in your life? Let me know in the comments who makes a difference in your life and the lives of others!

Hope you had a great Monday!

xoxo
Ally

One thought on “Some Superheroes Don’t Need Capes

Leave a Reply

