Life as a Commuter: Tips and Tricks to Make Your Commute to School Easier

commuteWhenever I am on Pinterest, I see a lot of posts about moving into a dorm or tips and tricks for college students who are living at their school of choice. However, I don’t see a lot of posts for people who commute to school daily. Whether it be by car, train or bus, there are thousands of students commuting every day. Here are some of my tips to make that commute a bit easier!1. Know your route

It is always important to know exactly where you are going and to do a test run. My advice is to do a test run during the hours that you will be commuting. For drivers like me, that will help you anticipate the kind of traffic you will run into (if you are commuting during rush hour, etc). For those taking a bus or train, it will help you get a feel for timing, especially if you have to switch from one form of transportation to another. The last thing you want is to be late, so being able to figure out about how long it will take you to get from point A to point B is essential.

Also, if you have the chance, get yourself a little lost with a friend or two. That way, if you do make a wrong turn or get off at the wrong stop, you are able to redirect yourself and get where you need to go.

2. Have a playlist

Music makes everything more tolerable. Seriously, everything. Even a ton of traffic, annoying passengers and long commutes to early morning classes. Make sure that you have a playlist with music that you love and that will keep you pumped up and energized for the day ahead.

Right now, here is what is on my driving playlist:

  • Stitches – Shawn Mendes
  • Uma Thurman – Fall Out Boy
  • Renegades – X Ambassadors (side note: they are AWESOME go find their album and listen to it)
  • Love Myself – Hailee Steinfeld
  • Believe – Mumford and Sons
  • Cheerleader – Omi
  • Fight Song – Rachel Platten
  • Where are U Now – Jack U, Skrillex, Diplo, Justin Bieber
  • Shut Up and Dance – Walk the Moon
  • Worth It- Fifth Harmony
  • Hey Mama – David Guetta/Nicki Minaj
  • Ghost Town – Adam Lambert
  • Black Magic – Little Mix

It usually changes when I hear a new song on the radio that I love.

Also, if you take the bus/train you have a few more options of things you can bring with you to keep yourself entertained. Grab a book, a small project (if you knit for example), or do some school work for another class (or the class you are going to… I don’t judge 😉 hehe).

3. Keep a phone charger with you

This is a very important thing to always have with you. Having a dead phone while commuting can make things significantly more difficult. For me, a dead phone means no access to music, a map if I need to take a detour (which has happened before), and no phone for the day at school. I always keep a charger cable in my car and I often try to remember to charge my portable chargers (Portable chargers are a fantastic investment not only for commuters, but for everyone). I recommend buying a few extra chargers and keeping them in places like your bag or car so that you always have them and never have to deal with a dead phone.

4. Plan your schedule

Planning your schedule is important for commuters. Unlike people who live on campus, you do not have the luxury of being able to go back to your dorm and take a nap for a few hours. I recommend putting all of your classes close together so that only one trip to campus is necessary. They don’t have to be back to back, but I would try to avoid breaks of more than 2 or 3 hours, because that can just get monotonous. If you can’t manage that, or if you are like myself and have to go to work in between classes, try to have one or two days of easy commuting so that you don’t have to go back and forth to campus multiple times a day every day of the week.

I hope this makes your commuting a little bit easier and I hope you have a fantastic school year!

signature

Leave a Reply

