What I’m Grateful For – Thanksgiving 2015

This is going to be one of those personal posts, so feel free to ignore if you aren’t super interested in my day to day life. This one is a little more for me to look back on

8307526a419ce59f537d646826d8cabfIt’s getting close to Thanksgiving and, although I try to be grateful year round, I like to spend this holiday really thinking about who/what I am grateful for and why.

So, here goes nothing!

The things:

I am thankful to have a roof over my head, food in my fridge/pantry, a warm bed to sleep in every night and the basic necessities to live.

I am thankful that I am able to go to school and continue my education (even though sometimes it feels like I will never be out of school).

I am thankful to have an amazing job working with two amazing kids.

I’m thankful for the Miss America Organization for giving me confidence, an outlet for my passions and a sisterhood.

I am thankful for the rights I have as an American citizen. I see the inequalities that others face in different nations and it makes me thankful to live in this country.

The people:

Of course, I am thankful for my mom, who helps me with basically everything and is just the best. She supports me with everything I do and I am so grateful for that.

I am thankful for my brother, who shares my passion for all things nerdy and lets me fangirl to my hearts content.

I am thankful for my dogs (they are people too) for bringing so much happiness into my life, even when they wake me up at 5am.

I am thankful for the sisters I gained through MAO, particularly Amanda Rae, Dana and Sam Rose. And a special shout out to the ones I am especially thankful for after the past weekend: Alexa, Katlyn, Jamie and Kristen for encouraging me to continue pursuing my dreams.

I am thankful for my best friends, Nicole and Jess, who are seriously there for everything, even when I am a bit neurotic. I am thankful that I can not see Nicole for months on end and then we pick up like we never missed a day. I am thankful that Jess is always there for me no matter what and that we share so many of the same passions (I am not, however, thankful for the decreases in my bank account thanks to my new make up obsession given to me by Jess 😉 hehe)

I am thankful for my princesses, both Taylor and Lindsey and “my upstate princess” Nina. They bring so much light into my life and teach me things only a child could teach me.

I am thankful for all of the other friends/individuals who have crossed my path throughout my life, whether they are still in it or not. You all have taught me a lesson and have been an influential part of my life. There are seriously too many to list! This includes all of my friends that I have met through school, pageantry and beyond.

And finally:

I am thankful that I am alive. I am thankful that I have been given the passion and ability to sing. I am thankful for my struggles and my blessings. Because of all of this, I am who I am today.

Have a happy and blessed Thanksgiving and remember to be grateful today and everyday.

signature

Leave a Reply

