Creating a Vision Board

New Year’s Resolutions are hard to keep. Let’s be honest. You think of them on January 1st and then you have to remember to keep them for 365 days (or this year 366). Writing them down on your phone or on a piece of paper may work, but what if there was a way to really visualize your goals? There is! You can create a vision board. Want to know more? Read on! So what is a vision board? Basically, it is a board that contains images of all of the things you want to accomplish in a given time period.

I created a vision board last year as a way to be able to look every day and see what I want to get out of my life in five years. Although I still haven’t been able to check anything off just yet, I know it is helping me stay motivated towards reaching those goals.

Here is mine:

20160107_100851

A few fun points on mine: I want to visit California, learn to play guitar and piano, be able to do a handstand, graduate, run the Disney Princess half marathon, work at Busch Gardens and win a title in the Miss America Organization (just to name a few).

So here is how you can make your very own vision board!

Supplies

  • Poster board or Cardboard
  • Magazines and/or Computer Paper to print your pictures on
  • Glue or Double Sided tape
  • Markers/Crayons/Pencils/Ribbon/Misc Craft Supplies (optional)

Step 1: Determine the range of time you want to make it for

Looking to focus on this year’s resolutions? Hoping to make some big decisions in the next 5-10 years? Base your vision board on what you want to be motivated to work towards. Personally, I had some bigger goals like graduating, visiting California and learning how to play piano and guitar. I knew these were not goals that I could accomplish fully over 365 days, so I decided to make my vision board for the next five years (2015-2020).

Step 2: Write down the goals you want to accomplish in that time period

And I do mean write them down. Making a physical list will make it easier to keep track of what you want to find pictures for. Also, an additional note for this is to make sure your goals are reasonable and achievable in the time period that you have chosen. Odds are, you are not going to be able to run a marathon in a month or pay off a massive debt in a year with no savings. When you make goals that are not achievable, it is easier to get discouraged.

Step 3: Find pictures that match up with your goals

Now is the fun part! Go onto Google (or your preferred search engine) and find pictures that, to you, are a representative of the goals you want to achieve. Print them and cut them out and get them ready for step 5! You can also get magazines and cut pictures/words out of those as well if you don’t have a printer at home.

Step 4: Find motivational quotes to fill in space (optional)

This step is optional, although I love it. If, like me, you think you will have a lot of empty space between pictures, you may want to find some quotes that inspire you and print those out/cut them out of a magazine. These quotes will be there to remind you to push towards your goals!

Step 5: Arrange and secure

Take all of your images/words/quotes/etc and lay them out on the board how you think you want them to look. I highly recommend laying them all out prior to gluing them on because it will give you an idea on how much space you have and how all of the pictures look together. Once you have everything where you want it, glue or tape the images to the board.

Step 6: Be creative! (optional)

This step is optional as well, but if you want to write or draw anything on your vision board, go for it! Use ribbon, washi tape, glitter or whatever you want to make your vision board personal! On mine, I put my name in empty bubble letters and every time I accomplish a major goal (which I have predetermined which ones are my “major goals”) I plan on coloring in a letter!

Step 7: Hang it where you will always see it

My vision board is hanging over a chair in my bedroom right next to my bed so I can see it before I go to sleep and when I wake up in the morning. Find a place where you think you will see it and be constantly reminded about your goals and place it there! If you are in a dorm/apartment/place where you can’t damage the walls, try using command tape. They make one that has two pieces that connect with Velcro that can hold up heavier items. They also have a regular kind of tape, although I opted to use the one with the Velcro just for extra security. If you are in your own home and can use push pins or tape, go for it!

I hope you have fun making your vision boards! What is one thing that is on yours? Feel free to send me a picture when you are done! I would love to see them!

signature

3 thoughts on “Creating a Vision Board

Leave a Reply

