Recap! My Life Since I Have Disappeared

I can’t believe I have been so inactive on my blog! Life has been a whirlwind since the beginning of the year and I haven’t really posted anything since February. I guess the best thing to do is to kind of do a little recap post and update you on what has been going on and what I plan on doing over the course of the next few months. March was a hectic month for me. I was in preparation for the last two locals of the season to give me the chance to go to Miss New York. I was going to school online for the first time in over two years. In addition to all of that, I was trying to be more active in my community and with my platform. So here are all of those things in more detail.

School

Online school is hard. Don’t let anyone convince you that going to school online is easy because the work is significantly more demanding than it is in a typical classroom. I have been pushing through, writing papers and keeping busy with that since I started in the middle of January. I have three more weeks of school before I get a small break. Then I am taking one class over the summer and I have one final year before I finally graduate and can apply to graduate school.

Community Service and Platform Related Things

One of my goals this year has been to be more active in my community and more involved with my personal platform that I promote in the Miss America organization. One big thing that I started was I joined Conquer Worry and took over their Tumblr page. It has been a challenge, but a fun one! If you have a Tumblr, be sure to follow Conquer Worry. In fact, just go follow all of their social media because it is a fantastic group (You can find all of their different social media links on their website here). I also have gotten involved with Project375 and, most recently, ‘Listen, Lucy’ (more about that later). I have also gone to a ton of different events. Since January, I got to listen to Ben Carson speak and I got to ask him about the heroin problem facing our country. I was actively involved in a local program known as the Staten Island Slim Down. I collected donations at IHOP for the Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals and I attended a few other fun charity events. I also was featured twice in articles on The Mighty! It has been a busy but fun few months.

Pageants

In March, I competed in the last two open locals in New York, known as “sweeper” pageants. Two pageants, six titles and one long weekend later, I still came out with no title. However, the weekend ended with a very positive discovery. I was the second runner up at a pageant I had participated in early this season. Because they only announced the first runner up at the actual pageant, I didn’t know until I found out because of a ‘runners up’ title (a title that only girls who had placed in the top 5 at some point in the season) that I was eligible for. That was definitely something that I was very proud of and very happy to find out about. This was my third year competing in the Miss America Organization. Before that pageant, I had never once placed in the top 5. It was kind of a dream come true. Hey, I can only go up from here!

Just for fun, here are a few pictures from the pageants I competed in.

11968_10209142560749327_426347513809908225_n

Talent. Looking fierce of course

12794462_10209070113618194_8071446054275100227_n

You get what you work for and I worked hard for this body

Losing is never easy. Anyone who competes in anything will tell you that. But growth is necessary and the journey is the best part.

Other fun things that happened!

I went to see The Who in concert! Yes, it was about as epic as you would imagine it would be. And considering it is probably the last time they will ever tour, it was even more epic.

I also applied for a scholarship through the fantastic organization “Listen, Lucy” that I had mentioned before. The outcome? Well, you will just have to wait and see 😉

April is here and as busy as ever. Hopefully, I will be back to posting semi-regularly for the rest of the year (every week is ideal but every other week seems more likely). Hope that you enjoyed the little recap of my life!

“Reach for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land upon the stars”

signature

Leave a Reply

